Youth video award winners announced

Winning Colaiste Chiarain students Tiernan O’Rourke, Aoife Lennon, Eoin Hayes, Adam Hannon, Christina Enright and Bryan Lynch with Love/Hate’s Aaron Heffernan. Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

The initiative was launched last October as part of the IMPACT-supported Youth Connect project, which introduces school children to trade union and workplace issues through school visits and projects. It’s part of a new module on the struggle for decent work and the lessons of the Lockout centenary.

The awards were presented last week at a special screening in Dublin’s Savoy Cinema. The MC for the event was Love/Hate actor Aaron Heffernan. The prize for the winning team is a five-day trip to New York. Coláiste Chiaráin also won in the best acting category. The other winners were:

Most original/creative Pobalscoil Inbhear Scéine, Kenmare, Co Kerry
Best interpretation Maynooth Post Primary School, Co Kildare
Best edit/animation Loreto Community School, Milford, Co Donegal
Best screenplay    Bandon Grammar School, Cork. 

You can view all of the winning video entries HERE.